Book Review: Truth in Comedy (Improv)

…Guess who’s back?

 giphy

It’s taken me a while to write another book review. I’ve been a bit busy handling my life, much like everyone else on this planet. I have no excuse, I am put to shame. So let’s get to it, shall we?

The cover: Truth in Comedy by Charna Halpern, Del Close, Kim Johnson. Cool purple colors, looks like a lot of fun, and now I want a grape soda.

What’s it about: It’s a manual for people trying to get into Improv and learn about the how to’s and the legends (Del Close, you should know who this man is if you are invested in this art form).

What to gain from it: At first I was a bit adamant about reading a book on Improv. It’s more about doing with Improv than reading. Like sports, you can’t exactly play tennis well by turning over to page six. You gotta just do it (no Nike sponsorship included).

**I recommend attending at least one Improv class before reading. Sometimes there are free improv classes online! You can always Youtube- meh… In this book, there’s lots of vocabulary words, games, and techniques that you will not be familiar with. Hang on, they will provide examples, but personally, I believe they aren’t as much fun as they would seem unless you do them. Find a free class or a workshop- It’s a hell of a lot of fun and trust me it’s not easy. Chill though, it’s going to challenge you, that should account for something. Why does this matter you ask? Well, once you do it, this book is gold. It’s right on the money, clear and relatable. I recommend.

Aww, give it a shot!       giphy (1)

 

Is it funny: No. Hell no. Don’t pick this book up if you’re trying to talk about random things and turn them “funny”. Don’t be that guy/gal at the party. This is a manual. It helps you understand “The Harold” (a specific structure in Improv) and their games/warm-ups. Most importantly; to play as a team.  That’s the one big thing I love about improv. It’s a team effort. There is no STAR player. It’s almost like a brotherhood. I love it. My dream is to be in one of the troupes and explore ideas with my other fellow improvisers. I love it. Love it! Love it! Hope you take my advice, and check it out for yourself! If not, it’s cool. I’ll still love you for reading 🙂

Do I recommend it: I love it. Love it! Love it! Hope you take my advice, and check it out for yourself! If not, it’s cool. I’ll still love you for reading 🙂

giphy (2).gif

Writing & smiling in New York City

-Silvia Campos

 

Leave a Reply

